Skip navigation
Special Events

ISES Names Leaders, Honors Members

ISES heads named the leadership roster for 2007-08 and recognized the outstanding work of its members at today's annual general meeting and luncheon. The meeting is part of ISES Eventworld 2007, which has been running Aug. 16-18 at the hotel Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth in Montreal. The conference stresses an education program, which this year has included sessions in topics ranging from marketing to strategy to legal issues to keeping one's sense of humor in stressful situations.

At today's luncheon, outgoing president Marty Janis, Atlantic Services Group, Washington, gave highlights of the association's past year, including the rise in membership to 5,600, a robust media-relations program and a totally redesigned certification program.

Janis swore in the new international leadership, and saluted incoming president Connie Riley, CSEP, of Orlando, Fla.-based T. Skorman Productions.

Riley noted that her only plan for the year was to ensure that the three-year strategic plan designed by the ISES board of governors would move forward, "and we are truly moving forward," she said.


Janis named the 2006-2007 winners of the ISES Spirit of Excellence awards. On the chapter level:
Excellence in Membership Growth
Minneapolis-St. Paul Chapter

Excellence in Membership Retention
South Florida/Caribbean Chapter
Excellence in Communication
Rhode Island Chapter

Excellence in Programming and Education
New England Chapter

Excellence in Special Projects
Northern California Chapter

Chapter of the Year
Minneapolis-St. Paul Chapter

Region of the Year Award

For individuals:
Excellence in Membership Recruitment
Tara Fay

J. Robert Graves Pioneer Award
Melissa Jurcan

Mettle Attitude Award
Robert Wright

Volunteer of the Award
ISES Certification Committee

Eventworld ends tonight with the gala Esprit Awards ceremony at the Queen Elizabeth. For a complete list of winners, see the Wednesday edition of our e-newsletter, Eventline.

Photos by Special Events Magazine

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.