Skip navigation
Special Events

MPI names 2003-2004 International Board of Directors

MPI today announced its International Board of Directors and European Council, while the MPI Foundation has named its Board of Trustees to lead the association in fiscal year 2003-2004. These volunteer leaders will assume responsibility for enhancing MPI's growth and elevate the meeting industry to a higher level via a strategic plan, an association spokesperson said. They also will work closely with Colin Rorrie, named last week as MPI's new president and CEO effective Sept 1. At present, Rorrie is the executive director of the Irving, Texas-based American College of Emergency Physicians.

Earlier this year, MPI unveiled Pathways to Excellence, a multi-year strategic plan that will guide the association's future and prepare the industry for change. The plan calls for creating defined career paths for meeting planners, increasing influence with corporate, association and other senior-level decision makers, and increasing business opportunities for industry suppliers. In addition to implementing the strategic plan, the directors also plan to address members' evolving needs through professional development programs that enable meeting professionals to enhance the strategic value they bring to their organizations.

The Foundation Board of Trustees' oversees MPI Foundation research and development projects, including the Women's Leadership and Multicultural Initiatives. The European Council is the regional representative body of MPI's membership in Europe, the Middle East and Africa.

2003-2004 MPI International Board of Directors Executive Committee:

  • Chairwoman of the Board: Theresa (Terri) Breining, CMP, CMM - president, Concepts Worldwide

  • Chairman-Elect: Hugh K. Lee - president, Fusion Productions

  • Vice Chairwoman of Administration: Christine Duffy - president/COO, Maritz McGettigan

  • Vice Chairman of Finance: John S. Parke, CMP - CEO/president, Leadership Synergies

  • Vice Chairman of Member Services: Craig J. Ardis, CMM - director, global special events, Amway Corp.

  • Immediate Past Chairman: George A. Aguel - senior vice president, Walt Disney Parks and Resorts

  • Ex Officio / Liaison to the Brand Marketing Committee: David W. Johnson - CEO, Aimbridge Hospitality

  • Interim COO of MPI: David A. DuBois, CMP, CAE - executive vice president, MPI Foundation

  • President/CEO of MPI (effective Sept. 1): Colin Rorrie

2003-2004 MPI International Board of Directors Members:

  • John M. Williams, CMM - vice president, brand marketing and events, Leader Enterprises Inc.

  • Karen Williams - executive vice president, Greater Louisville Convention and Visitors Bureau

  • JoAnn Bedrosian-Ryan - manager, specialty markets, United Airlines

  • Susan Krug, CMP, CAE - executive director, Child Life Council

  • Carol Krugman, CMP, CMM - president/CEO, Krugman Group International Inc.

  • Jaap Liethof - commercial director, Hotels Van Oranje

  • Larry Luteran - vice president, industry relations, Hilton Hotels Corp.

  • Mark Andrew, CHA, CMP - general manager, Westin Bayshore Resort and Marina

  • Ann Godi, CMP - president, Benchmarc360° Inc.

  • David M. Rich - executive director, program strategy, The George P. Johnson Co.

  • John C. Tolbert - vice president, sales and marketing, Boca Resorts Inc.

  • Angie Pfeifer, CMM - director, travel and meeting management, Investors Group

2003-2004 MPI International Board of Directors Representatives:

  • Canadian Representative: Ginette Lavack - sales manager, special initiatives, Tourism Winnipeg

  • European Council Representative: Ann Holmes, CMM - senior partner, Partners in Charge

  • MPI Foundation Board Representative: David C. Scypinski - senior vice president, industry relations, Starwood Hotels and Resorts

  • ICLC Board Representative: P. J. Gonzales, CMP, CHSP - director, convention sales, Fort Worth Convention and Visitors Bureau

2003-2004 MPI International Board of Directors Legal Counsel:

  • Jonathan T. Howe, Esq. - president/senior partner, Howe & Hutton, Ltd.

2003-2004 MPI Foundation Board of Trustees Executive Committee:

  • Chairman: David C. Scypinski - senior vice president, industry relations, Starwood Hotels and Resorts

  • Chairman-Elect: G. Steven Armitage - senior vice president-sales, Hilton Hotels Corp.

  • Vice Chairman-Finance: David G. Gabri - president/CEO, Associated Luxury Hotels

  • Vice Chairman-Projects: Linda Swago - director organization development, S1 Corp.

  • Vice Chairman-Development: Charlotte St. Martin - executive vice president marketing, Loews Hotels

  • Vice Chairman-Marketing and Chapter Relations: Jeffrey W. Rasco, CMP - president, Attendee Management Inc.

  • Immediate Past Chairman: Nancy Morrell-Swanson - president, Global Marketing Services Inc.

  • Ex-Officio: David A. DuBois, CMP, CAE - executive vice president, MPI Foundation and interim chief operating officer, Meeting Professionals International

2003-2004 MPI Foundation Board of Trustees Members:

  • Bonnie Carlson, CDME - president/CEO, Bloomington Convention and Visitors Bureau

  • Jan Hennessey, CMP, CMM - manager, meeting and conference services, Kaiser Permanente

  • Dana L. Nickerson-Rhoden, CMP, CMM - senior manager scientific sessions, American Heart Association

  • Jorge Pesquera - executive director, Puerto Rico Convention Bureau

  • Tom V. Smith, CMP - director meetings and events, Health Net Inc.

  • Brian D. Stevens - president/CEO, ConferenceDirect

  • Mike Beardsley - senior vice president of sales North America, Marriott International Inc.

  • Mike Fegley - vice president of sales, Intercontinental Hotels Group

  • Candie Gerakos- managing director, specialty sales, Continental Airlines

  • Steve Moore - president/CEO, Greater Phoenix Convention and Visitors Bureau

  • Alan Pini, CMM - chief executive officer, Teknocongress

  • Cody Plott - president/COO, Pebble Beach Co.

  • Glenn M. Reighart, CMP, CMM, CAE- director of meetings and conventions, National Association of School Psychologists

  • Fred Shea - vice president-sales operations, Hyatt Hotels Corp.

  • Hattie A. Hill - chief executive officer, Hattie Hill Enterprises Inc.

  • Kevin A. Olsen - senior partner, One Smooth Stone

  • Rita Plaskett, CMP, CMM - president, ASSET

  • Ken R. Sanders - executive vice president, Audio Visual Services, Corp.

  • Julie A. Steible, CMP, CMM - events manager, NCR

2003-2004 MPI Foundation Board of Trustees Legal Counsel:

  • Jonathan T. Howe, Esq. - president/senior partner, Howe & Hutton, Ltd.

2003-2004 European Council Members:

  • Chair and Board Liaison: Ann Holmes, CMM - senior partner, Partners in Change

  • Luca Favetta - executive events manager, Hewlett Packard Europe

  • Birgit Roeterdink, CMM - director, global travel procurement, NV Organon

  • Eric Rozenberg, CMM - managing director, Ince & Tive

  • Ole Sorang - senior director of sales, Radisson SAS Hotels and Resorts

  • Staff Advisor: Didier Scaillet - director, European operations and global development, Meeting Professionals International

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.