Skip navigation
Special Events
ISES Names 'Spirit of Excellence' Winners at Eventworld 2011

ISES Names 'Spirit of Excellence' Winners at Eventworld 2011

At the ISES 2011 annual meeting, held yesterday during ISES Eventworld 2011 in St. Louis, 2010-2011 international president Heather Henderson, CSEP, CMP, announced this year's Spirit of Excellence award winners:

For chapters:
Excellence in Membership Growth
ISES Calgary

Excellence in Member Retention
ISES Calgary

Excellence in Communications
winner: ISES Vancouver
honorable mention: ISES Dallas

Excellence in Programming and Education
winner: ISES Minneapolis-St. Paul
honorable mention: ISES St. Louis

Excellence in Special Projects
winner: ISES New York Metro
honorable mention: ISES Greater Atlanta

Chapter of the Year
ISES Rhode Island

Affiliate/Region of the Year Award
ISES Canada

For individuals:
Excellence in Membership Recruitment
Rachel Church, ISES Austin
Morgan Steele Connacher, ISES New York Metro

J. Robert Graves Pioneer Award
Maria Corvallis, ISES Portland

Mettle Attitude Award
Linda Thompson, CMP
Cappa & Graham, San Francisco

International Volunteer of the Award
Gwen Helbush, CWC
Where to Start Wedding and Event Management, Newark, Calif.

After Terry Singleton, CSEP, was sworn in as 2011-12 international president, she challenged her fellow ISES members to increase membership by 25 percent over the course of the next year.

Friday's education slate included a session with David Rich, senior vice president for program strategy worldwide for experiential events giant George P. Johnson, addressing the rules and tools of successful experience marketing in today's demanding environment.


Many Eventworld attendees headed to Lumen, a private event space, for the SEARCH Foundation fundraiser.

Eventworld 2011 closes tonight with the annual Esprit Awards.

Photos by Special Events.


ISES Eventworld 2011 Debuts in St. Louis

ISES Esprit Nominees 2011

ISES Eventworkd 2010 Says Good Morning, Baltimore

ISES Names Esprit Award Winners at Eventworld 2010

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.